Where's the summer at?

And where did it go? I seems like yesterday, the party at Fartyget. Now it's almost august and the summer has disappeared it feels like. So, what have I achieved during the summer? What have I done? In june I only worked several times at the restaurant, which could be seen at my paycheck (it reads 3000 kr netto). To be honest, I don't remember much of what I did in june except that I celebrated midsummers eve and went to Sweden U21-Serbia U21 in Malmö with MJ. Other than that, I cannot remember....or well, I got a nice tan at least ;P

So, in july, the work at the restaurant at Varberg's fortress began. This is the third year in a row I'm working with the same boss; the totally useless S of a B! Work began on july the first and continued several days. When I got my first day off, it was sunday. The next day i was back at work again, with one significant difference: I was no longer just a dish-boy (or dishwasher as is the correct word, but I chose not to use it because of the potential risk of people then confusing me with a machine ;P), but in addition also a waiter. At the time I had no f-ing idea why the boss wanted me, the unfriendliest person on earth (I have a problem kissing ass and pretending to be nice, yes..), to be a waiter on his fancy restaurant! Later I got the answer to my question. Obviously ther's a shortage of staff all around the country in the restaurant business. It is obviously very hard to find personnel who want to stick around for a while, if you get what I mean. The chef-position is especially affected....obviously.

So I simply had to adapt as best I could to my new role as both a dish-boy and a waiter. These to things I had to do at the same time, which made a heavy work even heavier. To top it all I also had to be nice to people!? Get out of here, you twat! Well, that was my first reaction...and my second and third...hmm...I guess I've reacted that way ever since ;)
Now, almost a month later, with many hours of job completed, I sort of know what I'm doing (as a waiter). It actually isn't that difficult. To carry three plates is not a problem...unless they are hot, which my hand have been forced to witness several times. Everything at work have gone well and I even got some praise (believe it or not!) from my boss for a job well done. The second week of july I worked for a total time of 55 hours. That was rough. I got one day off. The next week I worked for over 40 hours. Keep in mind that this isn't a job where you get to rest or sit down a lot. Actually I don't think I ever sit down at work :P it is very though on the body, but I make a lot of money at least. I only have 95 kr/hour + OB, and that's not very much, you might think, but, and it's a big but, every night the personnel that worked that evening split the tip. The tip I get for a normal evening is almost always around 200 kr. On a weekend, it's often 300-400 kr/night. Have in mind that we are often 5-6 who split the tip. Last friday I got my biggest tip, so far, of the year: 505 kr for one night. That was more than half of what I earned in my regular salary that evening as I worked 9 hours.

Last summer I got a total of 6500 kr in tip-money. I reckon that it won't be as much this summer, mainly because of the fact that I did not work all of june as I did last year. Instead I will work all of august, but only for 3-4 days a week + a couple of weddings (= no tip). This brings me to the conclusion that I probably, concerning the tip, will land somwhere between 3500-5000 kr. That's not bad at all considering the fact that my London-voyage in october will cost me 7000. Yeah, right! The London trip! So, a few days ago i spoke with the travel organizer (or what the heck it's called). He said that everything was fixed concerning the trip. So, here's my trip to London, which I will undertake together with Anna (yes, I have made up my mind):

Note that me and Anna will plan the trip in advance (what we're going to visit and stuff like that) to avoid panic when we actually are in London. Thus I don't know much about the trip yet, but will give you the generic details..

10.15, friday, 30th october we will take a plane (Ryanair) from Göteborg/Säve to London/Stanstead. The flight will take approxemately one hour or a little more perhaps. Then we will take the train or tube (subway) in to London city, where our hotel is situated. Later that evening we talked about, since I have never been to Emirates Stadium, checking out the fastest tube-rout to the arena. This will prevent us from being stressed the next day.

Saturday, 31th october we will go out early to imbibe (yes I looked the fucking word up! Happy!?) the atmosphere around the stadium before the match. I will also make a raid into the official Arsenal shop, The Armoury, outside the stadium. If I know myself, it will be hard to leave :P
The, before kick-off (we haven't got any further info yet), we will be served a three course dinner with free firewater (hehe) inside the stadium, as a part of our Club tickets (VIP, man! VIP! :D). Then, at 12.45 local time (13.45 here), the match between Arsenal FC and Tottenham Hotspur will commence. The stadium will explode when 60000 people try to outsing each other. Can't wait to sing along! Fuck off, Spurs! Cause we're Arseeeeeeeeeeenaaaal..bam bam bam bam..Arseeeeeeeeeeeenaaaaal FC! And we're by far the greatest, team the world have seen!!!! As i said: CAN'T WAIT!!! I promise, MJ, I will take a lot of pictures and videos and give them to you later on :)

Then we have, as the match finishes around 14.45, all day to do something else. That "something" hasn't been decided yet. The only thing we know is that we have plenty of time to wander around in autumn-London (Hyde park is nice) :D
Sunday we have all day to do whatever we wish. The trip back to Sweden is not until 18.00 on monday, 2 november. This means, because I managed to get these brilliant flight-times, that we have two whole days in London + one day from noon and one day until 18. You do the maths ;)
As I said though, we haven't decides what to visit yet. I know that Anna wants to see Madame Tussauds, and I have no problems going there again. We will also probably visit those places where it's free entry, such as British Museum and tate Modern, as two examples. Westminster and Trafalgar Square is also possible targets for our visit. Harrods is another place where I want to go. However, it will be fun :)
31 october is the date. Except to hear more of this subject until then ;)

But that's three months away, folks!

What am I going to do until then? Well, now it's tuesday and if nobody fro work phones me today, I won't work until tomorrow (wednesday) at 17. I probably will work the same times all of august. I hope that i can partake in the Nollning at least a few days as a spectator/tormentor of the zeroes. We will have to see. On the 15th of august, the premiership starts again......nuff said!

On 1 september school starts. My subject for this term is religion and I'm really looking forward to doing this. An intriguing subject :) then i hope I will be able to play some fotball with MJ (and perhaps Roy and Elias) before the winter comes. It may sound a little ... or well...very gay, but I have missed MJ during the summer. He is the only one who truly understands the fotbally half of me ;)

Kalmar for Allsvenskan!

Now I have written enough for a lifetime. It's time for me to hit the hay. I will update as soon as something exciting happens. So long suckers!

The song, which from now on, I will play before every Arsenal game: Roger Daltrey - Highbury Highs

Victoria Concordia Crescit - Victory Through Harmony

Kommentarer
Postat av: martin

att du fortfarande inte har skrivit nåt om kolo toure!?



antar att du är rätt besviken på arsenal??

2009-07-30 @ 12:02:17
Postat av: Jocke

Mer besviken på Kolo..

2009-07-30 @ 14:39:16

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0